Home Horse Racing France Prix du Muguet History: A source of great milers

Prix du Muguet History: A source of great milers


Prix du Muguet

Group 2, 4-year-olds and above, 1,600m/1m, €90,000

Created in 1967

Last winner: Plumatic (h5, GB by Dubawi and Plumania, by Anabaa), owned by Wertheimer&Frère, bred by Wertheimer&Frère, trained by André Fabre, ridden by Vincent Cheminaud.

Record-time: 1’35’’90 by Redmead in 1984.

The race would be run in 2020 for the 52nd time

The 2019 edition

Last going into the last straight, 5-year-old Plumatic (Dubawi) passed by the field to score impressively in the Prix du Muguet Mile (Gr2), the biggest race of the May 1st meeting at St. Cloud. This very hot renewal was led by English raider Ostilio (New Approach), and 2018 French Two Thousand Guineas winner Olmedo (Declaration of War) was the first to make a move as they were sprinting in the last bend. The Jean-Claude Rouget-trained colt never let go but could not spare a neck on Plumatic. Mer et Nuages (Lope de Vega) also fought to the ned and finished third within a length of the first two home.

Still well placed by the rail after a very good start, football International striker Antoine Griezmann’s Tornibush (Dream Ahead) finished fourth, more than two lengths behind, after rubbing shoulders with Mer et Nuages at the turning point of the race. Gr1-winner Polydream (Oasis Dream) did not pass this test over the mile, finishing sixth on a distance now possibly too long for her.

Homebred by Wertheimer & Frère, Plumatic won the Sovereign Stakes (Gr3) in Britain last year over the mile but finished twice 4th in the Prix de Moulin de Longchamp (Gr1) and the Prix Daniel Wildenstein (Gr2) won by Ostilio later on.

Trained by André Fabre, he has now started this third season in the most convincing way and seems to be best around this distance. He is out of the Grand Prix of Saint-Cloud (Gr1) winner Plumania (Anabaa), also the dam of Starmaniac (Sea the Stars), a classic hope this season for the Wertheimers, staring in the Prix Greffulhe (Gr2) that same day at Saint-Cloud. Plumania then gave Frankel colt now trained by Christophe Ferland, and a Sea the Stars filly.


As part of the meeting on 1 May traditionally held at Saint-Cloud Racecourse, a race called the Prix de Muguet, contested by 3 year-olds over 1 mile 2 furlongs, was for a long time organised. In 1967, the conditions changed and the Prix du Muguet became an event for 4 year-olds and over, run over 1 mile with a commensurate purse of 100,000 F to the winner. After gaining Group 3 status in 1972, the Prix du Muguet was elevated to the Group 2 ranks in 1995.

The race has been switched to Longchamp six times, in 1968, 1976, 1977, 1982, 1983 and 1985. In 1968 only, its distance was raised to 1 mile 2 furlongs.

Foreign raiders won the race 7 times with Jan Ekels (1973), American Prince (1980), Proudwings (2001), John Dunlop (Dandoun 2003), Martillo (2004, 2005) and Sommerabend (2014).

(*) In 2020, due to the COVID19 pandemic, the race was delayed and run at the end of June as a Gr2 prep race for the following Prix d’Ispahan.


  • Wertheimer Family (6 wins): Jacques with Pink (1985), Val des Bois (1990), Green Tune (1995), Wertheimer&Frère with Gold Away (1999), Bawina (2015), Plumatic (2019).
  • Stavros Niarchos (3 wins): Redmead (1984), Exit to Nowhere (1992), Spinning World (1997).
  • Daniel Wildenstein (2 wins): Art Français (1987), Vetheuil (1996).
  • Khalid Abdullah (2 wins): Dansili (2000), Byword (2010) ;
  • Gestüt Höny-Hof (2 wins): Martillo (2004, 2005). 


  • André Fabre (7 wins): Colour Chart (1991), Vetheuil (1996), Dansili (2000), Byword (2010), Vadamos (2016), Jimmy Two Times (2017), Plumatic (2019). 
  • Christiane Head (6 wins): Pink (1985), Val des Bois (1990), Hatoof (1993), Green Tune (1995), Marathon (1998), Gold Away (1999) ;
  • Carlos Laffon-Parias (4 wins): Keltos (2002), Krataios (2006), Bawina 2015), Recoletos (2018) ;
  • Ralf Suerland (3 wins): Proudwings (2001), Martillo (2004, 2005). 


  • Olivier Peslier (5 wins): Zabar (1994), Vetheuil (1996), Keltos (2002), Dandoun (2003), Recoletos (2018) ;
  • Freddy Head (4 wins): Ellora (1976), North Jet (1981), Pink (1985), Exit to Nowhere (1992) ;
  • Maurice Philipperon (3 wins): Agy (1967), Blinis (1972), Apeldoorn (1986).
Previous articleMicrosoft Corp. (NASDAQ: MSFT) Exits Physical Retail
Next articleAmerican Pharoah Colt Stars at Tattersalls
S. Jack Heffernan Ph.D. Economist at Knightsbridge holds a Ph.D. in Economics and brings with him over 25 years of trading experience in Asia and hands on experience in Venture Capital, he has been involved in several start ups that have seen market capitalization over $500m and 1 that reach a peak market cap of $15b. He has managed and overseen start ups in Crypto, Mining, Shipping, Technology and Financial Services.