F1: Mexican Grand Prix 2016 the Final Grid

F1: Mexican Grand Prix 2016 the Final Grid

F1: Mexican Grand Prix 2016 the Final Grid


MercedesAMG’s  Lewis Hamilton will start the 2016 Mexican Formula 1 Grand Prix from the Pole position Sunday, team-mate Nico Rosberg will start in 2nd place.

The championship leader salvaged the spot on his final run Saturday after being well behind  Mr. Hamilton’s pace throughout the practice sessions.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo will start from the 2nd row, and Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg beat out Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel for 5th place.

Max Verstappen was the fastest man during the final practice session, beating both Messrs Hamilton and Ricciardo.

The final simulation runs were heavily affected by traffic, keeping the likes of Messrs  Rosberg and Vettel from posting sharp times on the supersoft tires. Mr. Rosberg finished 6th, while Mr. Vettel took 6th after impressing earlier in the session.

Red Bull and Ferrari took the fight to MercedesAMG, but Mr. Hamilton reclaimed the Top Spot several laps into his run on the super-softs.

Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat dropped out of the session with a power issue, failing to qualify for the second session.

A spin by Esteban Gutierrez meant Mr. Grosjean had to abandon his final flying lap, knocking both Haas cars out in the 1st session.

Most of the teams went with the soft tyires for the second session, where MercedesAMG looked dominant Friday.

Once again, Mr. Hamilton took the early advantage, with Mr. Rosberg losing more than half a second in the 1st 2  sectors.

Mr. Vettel blocked Mr. Hamilton, but the latter still set the fastest lap.

The full qualifying results are below:

Position Driver Team Lap time
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:18.704
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:18.958
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:19.054
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:19.133
5 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:19.330
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:19.376
7 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:19.381
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:19.551
9 Felipe Massa Williams 1:20.032
10 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1:20.378
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:20.282
12 Sergio Pérez Force India 1:20.287
13 Jenson Button McLaren 1:20.673
14 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1:21.131
15 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:21.536
16 Pascal Wehrlein Manor 1:21.785
17 Esteban Gutierrez Haas 1:21.401
18 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:21.454
19 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:21.692
20 Esteban Ocon Manor 1:21.881
21 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:21.916
22 Jolyon Palmer Renault No time
Live Mexican Grand Prix race coverage begins Sunday afternoon at 2:30p EDT on NBC with F1 Countdown, and F1 EXTRA will recap the Mexican Grand Prix on NBC at 5:00p EDT. NBCSN will air an encore presentation of the race on Sunday at 7:30p. EDT.

Lead play-by-play announcer Leigh Diffey will call this weekend’s action, and will be joined by veteran analyst and former racecar driver David Hobbs, and analyst and former race mechanic for the Benetton F1 team Steve Matchett.

F1 insider Will Buxton will report on-site from Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez in Mexico City.

Enjoy the racing today.

The following two tabs change content below.
HEFFX has become one of Asia’s leading financial services companies with interests in Publishing, Private Equity, Capital Markets, Mining, Retail, Transport and Agriculture that span every continent of the world. Our clearing partners have unprecedented experience in Equities, Options, Forex and Commodities brokering, banking, physical metals dealing, floor brokering and trading.