F1: Hamilton Wins Hungarian GP From Pole to Chequered Flag

F1: Hamilton Wins Hungarian GP From Pole to Chequered Flag

F1: Hamilton Wins Hungarian GP From Pole to Chequered Flag


Sunday, Lewis Hamilton increased his and his team’s lead in the Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championships, winning the F1 Hungarian Grand Prix from pole position on Sunday.

It was an uneventful race for Mr. Hamilton. There was a difference of strategy between Hamilton and his top competition, Ferrari’s (RACE) Sebastian Vettel, and also one between Mr. Hamilton and teammate Valtteri Bottas.

At the end, it was Mr. Vettel next to Mr. Hamilton in 2nd place on the podium. Mr. Bottas came 4th.

Kimi Raikkonen came 3rd for a podium finish.

Drivers Pierre Gasly, Kevin Magnussen, Fernando Alonso, Carlos Sainz Jr. and Romain Grosjean rounded out the points finishers.

Red Bull Racing’s Ricciardo fell back a couple spots near the start of the race.

Off the start, both Messrs Hamilton and Bottas got off the line well, but the strategies were split as Ferrari pit Kimi Raikkonen early.

MercedesAMG responded by pitting Mr.Bottas from 2nd, covering Mr. Raikkonen easily but ceding position to Mr. Vettel. MercedesAMG eventually pitted Mr. Hamilton from the lead, and rejoined 13 secs adrift of Mr. Vettel, who at that point was trying to keep an edge over Mr. Bottas. Mr. Ricciardo slowly picked his way through the pack and made it up to 5th position, without a pit stop.

After Mr. Vettel finally pitted on Lap 40 to fit the ultrasoft tires, he rejoined the track behind both MercedesAMG drivers. After Mr. Ricciardo’s pit stop, he remained in 5th, and was chasing down Kimi Raikkonen for 4th spot. Max Verstappen retired with an engine failure.

The Race Highlights

2018 Hungarian Grand Prix Finishing Order

Position Driver Team
1 Lewis Hamilton MercedesAMG
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
3 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
5 Valtteri Bottas MercedesAMG
6 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso
7 Kevin Magnussen Haas
8 Fernando Alonso McLaren
9 Carlos Sainz Jr. Renault
10 Romain Grosjean Haas
11 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso
12 Esteban Ocon Force India
13 Nico Hülkenberg Renault
14 Sergio Pérez Force India
15 Marcus Ericsson Sauber
16 Sergey Sirotkin Williams
17 Lance Stroll Williams
18 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren
19 Max Verstappen Red Bull
20 Charles Leclerc Sauber

Next race 26 August.

Have a terrific week

The following two tabs change content below.
HEFFX has become one of Asia’s leading financial services companies with interests in Publishing, Private Equity, Capital Markets, Mining, Retail, Transport and Agriculture that span every continent of the world. Our clearing partners have unprecedented experience in Equities, Options, Forex and Commodities brokering, banking, physical metals dealing, floor brokering and trading.