The Judges at Villa d’Este Wear Panama Hats


The Judges at Villa d’Este Wear Panama Hats

The Panama Hat is their badge of identification. When the judges of the Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este approach the automobile beauties in the grounds of Villa d’Este, the pulse of the vehicle owners starts to beat faster.

These 12 appointed ladies and gentlemen decide who will win the coveted trophies.

They pay attention to and focus on authenticity, elegance, quality of restoration or state of preservation in unrestored vehicles, functionality, overall impression and, as far as possible the documented vehicle history.

The jury members are selected on the basis of international standards.

They are experts from Europe and America. The jurors originate from different specialist areas – and they include journalists, authors of automobile books and designers.

The permanent Jury in 2018 includes the following members:

  • Lorenzo Ramaciotti (Italy): President of the Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este Jury since 2004, he has worked as an automobile designer for 40 years and can draw on 20 years of experience in assessing vehicles. From 1998 until 2005, he was head of design at Pininfarina. In 2007, he was appointed Chief Design Officer at the Fiat Group, and since 2015 he has been Special Advisor to the CEO of the Fiat Chrysler Automobile Group.
  • Ian Cameron (UK): Graduate of the Royal College of Art and until 2012 Chief Designer at Rolls-Royce Motor Cars.
  • Winston Goodfellow (USA): Journalist and automobile historian.
  • Harm Lagaaij (Netherlands): former Chief Designer at Ford, BMW and Porsche.
  • Adolfo Orsi (Italy): Expert on the Maserati brand and historian of Italian motor sport.
  • Stefano Pasini (Italy): Ophthalmologist, freelance journalist and author of automobile books.
  • Patrick le Quément (France): former Head of Design at Renault.
  • J. Philip Rathgen (Germany): Journalist and Managing Director of

Traditionally, the panel is augmented by Honorary Judges each year, be they designers or automobile enthusiasts.

Notably, some of them are not only automobile aficionados but also well-known contemporary celebrities:

  • Lapo Edvard Elkann (Italy): Designer, owner of the fashion label “Italia Independent”, grandson of former head of the FIAT Group Gianni Agnelli.
  • Sir Jonathan Paul “Jony” Ive (UK): Chief Design Officer at Apple, proponent of the principle “form follows function”.
  • Yasmin Le Bon (UK): former-model, classic car connoisseur and Mille Miglia competitor, married to Duran-Duran singer Simon Le Bon.
  • Quirina Louwman (Netherlands): classic car aficionado and regular participant in classic rallies, daughter of Evert Louwman, owner of 1 of the oldest private automobile collections with some 300 classic cars.
Did you know?

There are 58 truck loads driven to the Villa d’Este and Villa Erba laden with material for constructing the stages, podiums, audience stands and driving tracks. They also carry computers, printers, office equipment, light and sound equipment, hundreds of square metres of carpet, exhibition panels, display boards, and lots more.

There are about 350 assistants from more than 20 companies work to ensure that the Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este runs smoothly. And the special feature is that virtually everything happens behind the scenes and guests are unaware of how many people are involved.

There are 58 shuttle vehicles from BMW used in order to drive the entrants, Friends of Concorso, jurors, honorary guests and organizers to the various events being held on the shores of Lake Como

On Sunday, around 8.000 guests are once again expected to come to the grounds of Villa Erba in order to admire the classic vehicles on 2, 3 and 4 wheels?

And this year the 55 automobile candidates have a combined age of 3506 years and apply some 9509 horsepower to the road?

This year’s event: 25 – 27 May 2018

Registration & Tickets for 2018

BMW AG | BMW Group Classic | AK-52 – Concorso d‘Eleganza Villa d‘Este | Petuelring 130 D-80788 Munich, Germany

Chairman of Supervisory Board: Norbert Reithofer

The legal representatives of BMW AG (DE:BMW, OTCMKT:BMWYY) are the members of the Board of Management: Harald Krüger, Chairman, Milagros Caiña Carreiro-Andree, Markus Duesmann, Klaus Fröhlich, Pieter Nota, Nicolas Peter, Peter Schwarzenbauer, and Oliver Zipse.

The following two tabs change content below.
HEFFX has become one of Asia’s leading financial services companies with interests in Publishing, Private Equity, Capital Markets, Mining, Retail, Transport and Agriculture that span every continent of the world. Our clearing partners have unprecedented experience in Equities, Options, Forex and Commodities brokering, banking, physical metals dealing, floor brokering and trading.