Alonso Wins Rain-shortened Daytona 24 Hours Race

$RACE, $GM, $F

Wayne Taylor Racing (WTR) claimed victory in a rain shortened 24 Hours of Daytona that saw Fernando Alonso, Jordan Taylor, Kamui Kobayashi, and Renger van der Zande crowned winners.

Officials took the decision to Red Flag the race shortly after the 22 hour mark having suspended the race once already for heavy rain.

For the 1st time in history, the race was Red flagged 2X due to wet conditions, 1st for an hr, 45 mins on Sunday morning and a 2nd and final time at 12:39p.

Classified 2nd were Felipe Nasr, Pipo Derani, and Eric Curran while 3rd went the way of the Penske entry of Helio Castroneves, Ricky Taylor, and Alex Rossi.

2nd placed Nasr had been leading, but a mistake heading into the infield section saw the Brazilian run wide and open the door for Mr. Alonso to drive through.

It proved a Key moment with the Red Flag shown shortly afterwards.

The race had, by then, been pared down to a battle between the WTR Cadillac DPi, the Action Express Racing entry of Nasr, and the 2 Penske Acuras.

As conditions worsened towards the end of the race the Penske entries were unable to live with the pace of the Cadillacs while Juan-Pablo Montoya, Dane Cameron, and Simon Pagenaud were forced out with mechanical problems from 4th place as the race began to move towards end.

Heading the LMP2 class to the line was Pastor Maldonado, Roberto Gonzalex, and Ryan Cullen, taking a comprehensive 4 lap win over the 2nd placed car in class belonging to Kris Wright, Kyle Masson, Cameron Cassels, and Robert Masson.

BMW claimed GTLM honors after a tight battle with the leading Ferrari 488 GTE and the Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT of Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westwood, and Scott Dixon.

Earlier, contact between Frederic Makowiecki and Joey Hand at the 1st corner saw the 2 leaders effectively end their chances of victory and promoting the Rizi Competizione Ferrari into the lead.

The Briscoe/Dixon/Westbrook Ford had been leading prior to a pit stop shortly before the final Red Flag was shown, dropping the trio to 3rd.

Chaz Mostert ended the race 40 laps off the pace after contact for Jesse Krohn left the car with steering damage, necessitating a length stop to repair and leaving them 32nd overall.

They were 1 spot up from Simona de Silvestro in the GTD Class Acura NSX GT3, finishing 11 laps off the class winning Lamborghini Huracan GT3.

Earl Bamber finished 4th in GTLM, Australian LMP2 pole sitter James Allen ended the race 15th overall and 3rd in class, while Nick Cassidy was 22nd and Matt Campbell 24th outright.

The next round of the IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Championship is at Sebring in March where the famed 12 Hour will share the billing with the World Endurance Championship.

Have a terrific weekend

The following two tabs change content below.
HEFFX has become one of Asia’s leading financial services companies with interests in Publishing, Private Equity, Capital Markets, Mining, Retail, Transport and Agriculture that span every continent of the world. Our clearing partners have unprecedented experience in Equities, Options, Forex and Commodities brokering, banking, physical metals dealing, floor brokering and trading.