Which Nation Is The Most Energy-Efficient

Which Nation Is The Most Energy-Efficient

Which Nation Is The Most Energy-Efficient

Which major nation has the most energy-efficient economy? Is the United States ahead of or behind other nations—including the U.K., China, Germany, India, South Korea, Australia, and Japan—when it comes to energy efficiency?

The American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE) will issue its 3rd edition of the International Energy Efficiency Scorecard report measuring the energy efficiency of 23 of the world’s largest energy-consuming countries. The new ACEEE scorecard will be released during a phone-based news event at 11 a.m. EDT/4 p.m. GMT on July 20, 2016.

In alphabetical order, the 23 countries ranked by ACEEE are Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Together these countries represent 75 percent of all the energy consumed on the planet and over 80 percent of the world’s gross domestic product (GDP).

Eight countries have been added to the 2016 report that were not included in the 2014 version: Indonesia, Netherlands, Poland, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Taiwan, Thailand, and Turkey. All of the ranked nations will be compared in 35 different categories for energy efficiency.

ACEEE also publishes a widely followed annual scorecard that ranks US states on energy efficiency as well as a city energy efficiency scorecard that ranks US cities and municipalities.

News event speakers will include:

ACEEE Executive Director Steven Nadel;
Georg Maue, energy senior advisory, General Issues of Energy Efficiency, German Ministry for Economic Affairs;
Ing. Mauro Mallone, director, Energy Efficiency and Energy Saving Unit, Directorate General for Electricity Market, Renewables and Energy Efficiency, and Nuclear Energy, Italian Ministry of Economic Development;
Also invited: Representatives of the U.S. government, and Japan; and
ACEEE Research Analyst Chetana Kallakuri.

TO PARTICIPATE: Join the live, phone-based news conference (with full, two-way Q&A) at 11 a.m. EDT/4 p.m. GMT/5 p.m. Central European Summer Time/12 a.m. Japan Standard Time/ on July 20, 2016 by dialing 1-877-418-4267 in the U.S., 0066-33-1-33094 in Japan, 0800-6647650 in Germany, 800897553 in Italy, 08082389064 in the U.K., and 1-412-717-9585 for all other countries. Ask for the “ACEEE international scorecard” news event.

CAN’T PARTICIPATE?: A streaming audio replay of the news event will be available on the Web at http://www.aceee.org as of 5 p.m. EDT/10 p.m. GMT on July 20, 2016.

EDITOR’S NOTE: An electronic copy of the ACEEE 2016 International Energy Efficiency Scorecard report and a high-resolution image of the ACEEE logo will be available upon request on July 19, 2016.


The American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy acts as a catalyst to advance energy efficiency policies, programs, technologies, investments, and behaviors. For information about ACEEE and its programs, publications, and conferences, visit http://aceee.org.

The following two tabs change content below.
Shayne Heffernan Funds Manager at HEFFX holds a Ph.D. in Economics and brings with him over 25 years of trading experience in Asia and hands on experience in Venture Capital, he has been involved in several start ups that have seen market capitalization over $500m and 1 that reach a peak market cap of $15b. He has managed and overseen start ups in Mining, Shipping, Technology and Financial Services.

You must be logged in to post comments :